Layers of the Human Retina and the Human Eye

The Layers of the Human Eye

The innermost layer of the eye is the retina. The retina has a total of 10 layers which include a very light sensitive part of the eye where the “rods” and “cones” are located.

Another layer of the human eye is the “choroid” layer which is filled with blood vessels that supply oxygenation and blood to the retinal area.

Another layer of the human eye is the “sclera”. This part of this marvelous organ never fossilizes, thus it will never be possible to see a human or any other animal’s sclera once it has been dead for some time. This layer is made up of white tissue which covers the entire eye with muscles that ultimately allow the eye movement within the socket.

Image courtesy of:

To read the entire article as posted by above web site, please click here or on the above image.



(Kolb, 2011)

(Wu, No Date)

Kolb, H. (2011). Simple Anatomy of the Retina. Retrieved February 22, 2019, from

Wu, S. (No Date). Layers of the Human Eye. Retrieved February 22, 2019, from